Demian's Gamebook Web Page

Username: Password:
Not logged in. You can or Sign Up as a New User

Endless Quest

[List All Series] [Show Series Images]

Publishers:Timothy R. Norris -- United States
TSR -- United States
Categories:Complexity Level : Basic (No Game System)
Format : Paperback
Genre : Adventure
Genre : Fantasy
Genre : Science Fiction
Licensed Property : Conan
Licensed Property : Novel Tie-In
Product Family : Dungeons & Dragons
Target Age Group : Older Children
Writing Style : First Person
Writing Style : Present Tense
Writing Style : Second Person
Translated Into:Abenteuer ohne Ende (German)
Aventura sin fin (Spanish)
Avventure infinite (Italian)
Dungeons & Dragons Äventyrsböcker (Swedish)
Endoresu kuesto geemu bukku [エンドレスクエストゲームブック] (Japanese)
Poreditsa Bezbroy priklyucheniya [Поредица Безброй приключения] (Bulgarian)
Les Quêtes sans fin (French)
Silsilat arwa' al-mughamarat [سلسلة أروع المغامرات] (Arabic)
Você É o Herói (Portuguese)

These books were one of the most successful American series to follow in the footsteps of Choose Your Own Adventure and were the first of many interactive book offerings to be published by TSR. Each adventure is based on one of TSR's role-playing games or other licenses, with most taking place in one of the worlds of Dungeons & Dragons but others using the settings of Gamma World, Star Frontiers, Top Secret or even the worlds of familiar pulp literary characters Conan and Tarzan. Despite their role-playing origins, the books completely avoid game mechanics, with no dice-rolling or character statistics to be found. There is, however, a certain touch of role-playing to be found in the fact that each book casts the reader as a specific character with a defined past rather than following the more common gamebook tradition of attempting to keep reader identity as generic as possible. More complex gameplay was later introduced in the Super Endless Quest books (which were quickly renamed the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons Adventure Gamebooks) while simplified stories for younger readers were released in the Fantasy Forest line.

The Endless Quest books were released in two distinct series; the first thirty-six books were released during the eighties and featured fairly large type and a format identical to that of the Choose Your Own Adventure books. This format was carried over to two spin-offs (the gimmicky Endless Quest Books: Crimson Crystal Adventures and the romance-oriented HeartQuest books) as well as the Lazer Tag Adventures series. The final thirteen books were released in the nineties and differed from the predecessors in several notable ways: their text was smaller, they featured text sections numbered independently from the actual pages (thus following the layout scheme used by Fighting Fantasy rather than Choose Your Own Adventure though still retaining the rules-free simplicity of the latter series), the settings were based on a different set of games (mostly Advanced Dungeons & Dragons campaign settings, but also the Gamma World and Amazing Engine RPGs, the DragonStrike board game, and the never-released Wildspace board game), and the volumes themselves were not assigned official numbers, though they are numbered (starting with thirty-seven) in the list below for convenience.

Several years after its original release, one book from the eighties series (Claw of the Dragon) was reissued in print form by Wizards of the Coast (see Endless Quest Reissues). A further two books from the same time period (Villains of Volturnus and Captive Planet) were made freely available over the Internet by a different publisher (though these versions can only be read in a web browser).


     The Endless Quest Collectors Set #1
     The Endless Quest Collectors Set #2
     The Endless Quest Collectors Set #3
     The Endless Quest Collectors Set #4


     1. Dungeon of Dread
     2. Mountain of Mirrors
     3. Pillars of Pentegarn
     4. Return to Brookmere
     5. Revolt of the Dwarves
     6. Revenge of the Rainbow Dragons
     7. Hero of Washington Square
     8. Villains of Volturnus
     9. Robbers and Robots
     10. Circus of Fear
     11. Spell of the Winter Wizard
     12. Light on Quests Mountain
     13. Dragon of Doom
     14. Raid on Nightmare Castle
     15. Under Dragon's Wing
     16. The Dragon's Ransom
     17. Captive Planet
     18. King's Quest
     19. Conan the Undaunted
     20. Conan and the Prophecy
     21. Duel of the Masters
     22. The Endless Catacombs
     23. Blade of the Young Samurai
     24. Trouble on Artule
     25. Conan the Outlaw
     26. Tarzan and the Well of Slaves
     27. Lair of the Lich
     28. Mystery of the Ancients
     29. Tower of Darkness
     30. The Fireseed
     31. Tarzan and the Tower of Diamonds
     32. Prisoner of Elderwood
     33. Knight of Illusion
     34. Claw of the Dragon
     35. Vision of Doom
     36. Song of the Dark Druid
     37. Dungeon of Fear
     38. Castle of the Undead
     39. Secret of the Djinn
     40. Siege of the Tower
     41. A Wild Ride
     42. Forest of Darkness
     43. American Knights
     44. Night of the Tiger
     45. Galactic Challenge
     46. Bigby's Curse
     47. The 24-Hour War
     48. The Test
     49. Sands of Deception

Related Documents


Endless Quest series from Dragon #95
Thanks to Jim Oaks for the image!


1 Contre 1 Gamebook Advertisement (English translation)
This is an unofficial translation (by Demian Katz) of the French interactive ad from the back of several Donjons & dragons, niveau avance books.

Related Links

Endless Quest # 8: Villains of Volturnus [full text] (last verified: 2016-11-15)

Endless Quest #17: Captive Planet [full text] (last verified: 2016-11-15)

User Comments

No comments available.

Demian's Gamebook Web Page (c)1998-2016 Demian Katz.

Individual reviews are the property of their authors.
Trademarks and graphics remain the property of their respective owners and are used here solely for the educational purpose of documenting the history and scope of interactive storytelling. No infringement is intended. If you have any questions or complaints, please contact